Finally buying a Carver

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    KirbyBanjo
    Participant

Been wanting to get one for years, convinced myself to get one now that I am finishing up school.

Problem. Which one do I get? And what tuning should it be? Play Keys and Brass and Irish trad Tenor banjo and 5-string with a hodge-podge half finger-picking / half clawhammer style that i use to play everything out of Fake books… I’m completely self-taught and don’t know the first thing about strings.

Love the cello banjo, but I think I want a dedicated minstrel, fretless, 10″inch to learn real old-timey banjo. So confused by tuning, though. I think I am reading in the forums that these 10″ play best in standard gDGBD tuning, but down in E (eBEG#B), is that right? But I could tune it to standard G tuning with “Nylgut” strings? Or would that only work for the Gourd banjo? Are there any specific brands or styles that would work best to accomplish this?

I would really like to stick with G so i could more easily play with other people, but I don’t want to hinder the sound of the banjo.

Sorry for the long post. Does anyone have any recommendations?
    Kirby

Carver Banjos
    Keymaster

Hi Kirby, welcome to the forum!
    If you are looking at the 10” full scale minstrel model here are my recommendations:
    Option 1: use the provided strings and use the high set to tune to E.
    Option 2: use the provided strings and use the low set to tune to low A (almost a full octave below standard G. If you go all the way to low G the strings are going to be maxed out and they won’t intonate very well).
    Option 3: purchase a set of banjo nylgut, gut, or nylon strings that are intended for G tuning and tune to standard G.